1/ 1

Ho Minfong Collection

$24.88 SGD
$0.00 SGD
Only 0 left
Volume Pricing
$24.88 SGD each
Secure payments
A collection of three of award-winning author, Minfong Hos, most beloved and acclaimed books: Sing to the Dawn, Rice Without Rain and The Clay Marble. All three books are set in Southeast Asia, and each touches on a different theme: education, struggles for change both for country and within oneself. These books showcase aspects of Southeast Asian rural life in particular, and highlights difficulties that many farmers and peasants face under corrupt governments, political instability, war and even their own traditions. Minfong Hos simple yet poignant style of writing renders each story accessible to any reader, regardless of age or culture.
Sing to the Dawn, First Prize, Council of Interracial Books for Children (1975)
Rice Without Rain, First Prize, National Book Development Council of Singapore (1988), Parents Choice Award (1990), Best Books for Young Adults, American Library Association (1991)
The Clay Marble, Best Childrens Book (USA) (1991), Best Books selection, Parents Magazine (1992), Notable Childrens Trade Books in the Language Arts (1992), Childrens Book of Distinction, Hungry Mind Review (1992).